An equal opportunity affirmative action employer

Swanville Public Schools No. 486

602 DeGraff Avenue, Box 98 Swanville, MN 56382

Phone (320) 547-5100 Fax (320) 547-2576

Christopher Kircher - Chairperson Kathy Beckman - Vice-Chair Molly Gerads - Clerk Travis Hensch - Superintendent Sheryl Johnson - Principal Luke Peterson - Director Kyle Thieschafer, Jr. - Director Bill Johnson - Treasurer

Swanville School Board Minutes, District #486 January 17, 2024

The regular meeting of the Swanville School Board was called to order in the Swanville School Library at 6pm on January 17, 2024 by Vice President Kathy Beckman. Members present were Molly Gerads, Billy Johnson, Luke Peterson, Kyle Thieschafer and Kathy Beckman. Also present was Superintendent Travis Hensch. Absent was President Chris Kircher.

Luke Peterson made a motion to approve the Agenda for the meeting. Seconded by Billy Johnson. Vote: 5-0, motion carried.

Billy Johnson made a motion to approve the School Board Minutes from the December 20, 2023 regular meeting. Seconded by Kyle Thieschafer. Vote: 5-0, motion carried.

Molly Gerads made a motion to accept the Lane Advancement for Jason Lee from BA+15 to BA+30 and Samantha Roden from BA+15 to BA+30. Seconded by Luke Peterson. Vote: 5-0, motion carried.

Billy Johnson made a motion to pay the bills in the amount of \$112,083.62. Seconded by Kyle Thieschafer. Vote: 5-0, motion carried.

Kyle Thieschafer made a motion to approve the Electronic transfers of \$53,361.28 on December 20, 2023 and \$104,935.58 on January 5,2024. Seconded by Billy Johnson. Vote: 5-0, motion carried.

Election of Officers was held.

Chair - Billy Johnson Nominated Chris Kircher. Seconded by Luke Peterson. Vote: 5-0, motion carried. Vice Chair - Molly Gerads Nominated Kathy Beckman. Seconded by Billy Johnson. Vote: 5-0, motion carried. Clerk - Luke Peterson Nominated Molly Gerads. Seconded by Kyle Tschiefer. Vote: 5-0, motion carried. Treasurer - Kathy Beckman Nominated Billy Johnson. Seconded by Molly Gerads. Vote: 5-0, motion carried.

Luke Peterson made a motion to set the School Board Meetings to the 3rd Wednesday of the Month with the 4th Wednesday as the backup day, at 7pm. Seconded by Billy Johnson. Vote 5-0, motion carried

Luke Peterson made a motion to keep Board Compensation as Chair \$150, Vice-Chairperson \$50 (\$20 extra when presiding), Clerk, \$250. Seconded by Kathy Beckman. Vote 5-0, motion carried.

Billy Johnson made a motion to approve the Membership into Region III, CMERDC & MSBA for 2024. Seconded by Luke Peterson. Vote:5-0, motion carried.

Molly Gerads made a motion to designate The Long Prairie Leader and Morrison County Record as the official Newspapers for the Swanville School District. Seconded by Billy Johnson. Vote: 5-0, motion carried.



An equal opportunity affirmative action employer

Swanville Public Schools No. 486

602 DeGraff Avenue, Box 98 Swanville, MN 56382

Phone (320) 547-5100 Fax (320) 547-2576

Christopher Kircher - Chairperson Kathy Beckman - Vice-Chair Molly Gerads - Clerk Travis Hensch - Superintendent Sheryl Johnson - Principal Luke Peterson - Director Kyle Thieschafer, Jr. - Director Bill Johnson - Treasurer

Kyle Thieschafer made a Motion to designate Ratwik, Roszak & Maloney as the official Swanville School District Attorney for 2024. Seconded by Billy Johnson. Vote: 5-0, motion carried.

Luke Peterson made a motion to designate First State Bank of Swanville and MN School District Liquid Asset Fund as the official Swanville School District Depositories for 2024. Seconded by Molly Gerads. Vote: 5-0, motion carried.

Kathy Beckman made a motion to approve the below Appointments to the following Committees and their compensation. Seconded by Molly Gerads. Vote: 5-0, motion carried.

Mid-State Education District - Kathy Beckman - Compensation \$50

MSHSL - Chris Kircher - Compensation \$20

Community Education - Billy Johnson - Compensation \$20

Meet and Confer - Luke Peterson & Kathy Beckman - Compensation \$20

Staff Development- Chris Kircher - Compensation \$20

Legislative Liaison - Chris Kricher - Compensation \$20

Perkins - Kyle Thieschafer - Compensation \$20

Harassment/Bullying - Molly Gerads, Billy Johnson, Kathy Beckman - Compensation \$20

Finance - Molly Gerads, Kathy Beckman, Billy Johnson - Compensation \$20

Teacher/Principal Evaluation - Molly Gerads, Chris Kircher - Compensation \$20

Paired Sports - Molly Gerads, Luke Peterson - Compensation \$20

Technology - Kyle Thieschafer - Compensation \$20

Safety – Kyle Thieschafer - Compensation \$20

Innovative Schools Project - Billy Johnson - Compensation \$20

Response Team - Chris Kircher, Molly Gerads - Compensation \$20

Calendar - Molly Gerads - Compensation \$20

Negotiations - Full Board - Compensation \$20

Billy Johnson made a motion to approve Office Manager Debbie Sieben as the person responsible for making electronic transfers for 2024. Seconded by Kyle Thieschafer . Vote: 5-0, motion carried.



An equal opportunity affirmative action employer

Swanville Public Schools No. 486

602 DeGraff Avenue, Box 98 Swanville, MN 56382

Phone (320) 547-5100 Fax (320) 547-2576

Christopher Kircher - Chairperson Kathy Beckman - Vice-Chair Molly Gerads - Clerk Travis Hensch - Superintendent Sheryl Johnson - Principal Luke Peterson - Director Kyle Thieschafer, Jr. - Director Bill Johnson - Treasurer

Molly Gerads introduced the Resolution directing the Administration to make recommendations for reduction in programs and positions. Seconded by Luke Peterson. Roll Call Vote: 5-0 with all in favor, motion carried. The Resolution was adopted.

Kyle Thieschafer made a motion to approve the Interagency Governance Agreement between Morrison County Interagency (MCICC) and Swanville School. Seconded by Molly Gerads. Vote: 5-0, motion carried

Kathy Beckman made a motion to Approve the Pay Equity Implementation report showing the District in Compliance for Pay Equity. Seconded by Luke Peterson. Vote: 5-0, motion carried

Superintendent Travis Hensch reported on the K-12 Principal report. Enrollment is holding steady across all grades with no changes from last month. Student of the Month for Elementary and High school were recognized. Diane S, Chantelle F and Sheryl will attend the HRS Convention January 29-31, with Sourcewell paying air, hotel and registration fees. Swanville Teacher's of Excellence are Tamie Wimmer & Samantha Roden. Also, a "Pillar of Excellence" award, which is new this year, will be awarded to Kim Lindemann and Lizz Schafer. A Bandathon to raise money for the music program is scheduled for February 3rd from 11am-3pm, open to the public.

Activities Director Report: Athletes of the month were recognized. The District was awarded the Form B grant to purchase a medical cart & supplies. There is interest in Girls Gymnastics, the District is in the early stages of exploring co-op options.

Superintendent Announcements: Travis Hensch reported he will be attending the AASA National Conference Feb 13-17, in San Diego. This is paid for by Sourcewell. The Community Facility Task Force had another meeting with a presentation from Ehlers. Girl's sports numbers are down, and the discussion of co-op options is being explored.

The next Swanville School District Board meeting is scheduled for February 21, 2024 at 7pm in the High School Library.

Kathy Beckman made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 7pm, seconded by Billy Johnson. Vote: 5-0, motion carried, meeting adjourned.

Respectfully Submitted, Molly Gerads Swanville School Board Clerk

